Vote for excellence in architecture and sports facility construction


Vote for excellence in architecture and sports facility construction

27 September 2023

We are excited to announce a unique opportunity for sports and architecture enthusiasts! For the first time in the history of the IOC IPC IAKS Architecture Prizes, the public is being asked to vote for their favourite project. Covering the whole spectrum of sports and leisure facilities – indoors, outdoors and in the water, there are a total of 86 projects in six categories to choose from, ranging from small grassroots sports facilities in rural areas to large stadiums.

You have the chance to participate by voting for your preferred project in each of the six categories. The competition criteria focus on architectural and technical considerations as well as sustainability, public value and accessibility. You can also decide which of the twelve designs by up-and-coming architects is to receive your vote. Prepare to be inspired by the creativity and innovation of this year's participants as you select your favorite project. Nominations close Saturday 30 September.

Who the lucky winners are will be disclosed on 24 October 2023. At a festive gala dinner, the winners of this year’s IOC IPC IAKS Architecture Prizes will be commended on the stage of the Konrad-Adenauer-Saal in Cologne. 

Don't miss your chance to vote for excellence in architecture and sports facility construction. Visit the link below to cast your votes:

About the 2023 IOC IPC IAKS Architecture Prizes for sustainable, accessible and innovative sports and leisure facilities

Every two years, since 1987, the International Olympic Committee (IOC), the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) and the International Association for Sports and Leisure Facilities (IAKS) are committed to advocating for excellence in the visioning, design and operation of fully inclusive and universally accessible indoor and outdoor facilities.

The competition aims at increasing the accessibility of all sports and leisure facilities and architectural structures in order to offer all people opportunities to practise and view sport freely and without barriers. Identifying and promoting trends for transforming communities and urban areas into places of active living as well as building sustainable facilities is at the core of this international competition.

The competition brings to public attention buildings and complexes that integrate

  • sensible sustainability and public value,
  • exemplary accessibility and universal design,
  • strong functional planning and innovation,
  • exceptional architectural design.

Find out more here: