Global Sport for All Movement Trailblazers Celebrated at TAFISA Awards Ceremony


Global Sport for All Movement Trailblazers Celebrated at TAFISA Awards Ceremony

11 June 2022

On the evening of 9 June, participants of the 27th TAFISA World Congress joined the TAFISA Awards Ceremony and acclaimed the global Sport for All Movement's leaders and trailblazers.

The Ceremony started off with the presentation of TAFISA 's most prestigious award, the Jürgen Palm Award, named after TAFISA's late founding father. It is handed to selected individuals who have made a significant and long-term contribution to the field of International Sport for All and physical activity. The Award was actually given during a special event held at the Crystal Palace of the President of the Republic of Slovenia on 8 June, where it had been received by Slovenian President Borut Pahor, TAFISA President Prof. Juho Chang, and IPDJ President Vitor Pataco. The Awardees' achievements were highlighted by the master of ceremony:

President Borut Pahor has many accomplishments to his name. He is a sportsman and a strong believer in the power of sport to make a change. His honorary patronage to the 27th TAFISA World Congress in Slovenia exemplifies his important contribution to Sport for All in Slovenia and to the global Sport for All Movement at large. During his Presidency, Slovenia has become the first country in Europe to have a national public holiday dedicated to sport, a testament to Slovenia’s position as a Sport for All leader and a role model for other countries on the continent.

Prof. Juho Chang has been an established figure in the Global Sport for All Movement for the last few decades. The Founding President of the Sport for All Korea Association has taken on many roles such as President of the Korean Olympic Academy, Member of the IOC Sport for All Commission, President of the Korea Judo Association, President of the Korean Senior Olympian Association and TAFISA President among many others. His career spanning over 50 years depicts a life dedicated to Sport for All. He is a true leader and inspiration to all in the global Sport for All Movement.

The current President of the Portuguese Institute for Sport and Youth, Vitor Pataco has been a strong and fervent advocate for Sport for All and physical activity over the years. His constant support to the global Sport for All Movement and leadership in many programmes and events bringing physical activity to people in Portugal and internationally was demonstrated again through his direct involvement in the 7th TAFISA World Sport for All Games 2021 in Lisbon, Portugal, the first of its kind to be held as a hybrid event.

Awardees on the Stage


The Mission 2030 Awards followed, acknowledging the work done by organisations to advance the Sport for All Movement across four sectors; Academia, Media, Policy, and Business. The following awards were granted: 

  • Mission 2030 Academic Award: University of Ljubljana, Faculty of Sport
  • Mission 2030 Business Award: First Citizens Sports Foundation
  • Mission 2030 Policy Award: City of Ljubljana
  • Mission 2030 Policy Award: UNESCO Participation Programme
  • Mission 2030 Media Award: Sportanddev

The ceremony continued with the Anita Ghosh Award, presented to women who have done an outstanding contribution towards the empowerment of women and girls in Sport for All in challenging environments. This year the Award was received by all Mentees of the Female Leaders of Tomorrow programme. 

To conclude the evening, the Friend for Life Award was handed to special individuals who have made TAFISA and the Global Sport for All Movement stronger through their contribution and hard work over the years: 

  • Jorge Carvalho, Portugal
  • Keith Joseph, St Vincent & the Grenadines
  • Prof. Peter Kapustin, Germany
  • Matilda Mwaba, Zambia (posthumous)

Learn more on the TAFISA Awards here: